CSBK RD5: Szoke On AMP Superbike Pole


Jordan Szoke

SHUBENACADIE, N.S. (August 6) – Jordan Szoke will start from pole position in the fifth round of the Canadian Superbike Championship by Parts Canada at Atlantic Motorsport Park on Sunday.

The rider of the Competition Systems Kawasaki Race Team Kawasaki ZX-10R claimed his second straight Kawasaki S4-R Competition Lubricants Pole Award of the season by turning a lap at one minute, 7.359 seconds (136.819km/h) around the 2.56km (1.6-mile) AMP track in the Pirelli SuperPole qualifying session on Saturday afternoon.

The performance was worth $500 and four points toward the Canadian Superbike Championship.

Series points leader Brett McCormick of Saskatoon settled for second spot on the grid with a time of 1:07.736 on his radX / BMW Motorrad Canada BMW S1000RR and Kars, Ont. racer Andrew Nelson set the third best time of 1:07.745 riding the Nelson Racing / GymMax / Monette Sports BMW S1000RR.

Woodbridge, Ont.’s Frank Trombino completes the front row for Sunday’s race after setting a time of 1:08.045 on the Suzuki Canada / Hindle / Sturgess Cycle Suzuki GSX-R600.

Szoke will be going for his third straight win at Atlantic Motorsport Park on Sunday after sweeping last year’s doubleheader here. The Brantford, Ont. native is also trying to keep his bid for a sixth straight Canadian Superbike Championship alive. He heads into the race trailing McCormick by 45 points and a race win is worth 50.

“I’m actually a little mad at myself because I think I left a lot on the table,” said the 31-year-old Szoke. “We’ve made a lot of changes so far this weekend and we made good progress this morning. It’s encouraging going into the race.”

McCormick had been fastest in the morning prequalifying session with a time of 1:07.438 but suffered a crash in the session and was forced to use his ‘B’ bike for SuperPole.

“The whole day has been kind of backwards for me,” said the 19-year-old McCormick, who hasn’t lost a race yet this season. “We made a mistake with the set-up, made a couple of changes that shouldn’t have been done. The bike was harder to ride everywhere.”

Nelson made a big jump in performance after curing a fuel system issue with his bike on Saturday morning.

“I’m pretty happy,” said Nelson, who finished second to Szoke in both Superbike races at AMP last year. “This is the fastest I’ve gone around here on a Superbike and I feel comfortable doing those times.”

Trombino enjoyed his best qualifying effort of the 2011 Superbike season.

Alex Welsh of Uxbridge, Ont. just missed a spot on the front row after setting a time of 1:08.082 on the Z1 CycleTech / Kenwood Suzuki GSX-R1000. He will be joined on the second row for Sunday’s race by Jodi Christie on the Jodi Christie Racing / Cameron Cycle / Blue Streak Racing Honda CBR600RR, who recorded a lap at 1:08.669, and rookie Pro Bodhi Edie of Warman, Sask. on the Edie Racing / Acceleration Racing / Honda Canada Honda CBR600RR, who turned a 1:08.834.

The top 10 is rounded out by Michael Ferreira of Mississauga, Ont. (radX / BMW Motorrad Canada BMW S1000RR), Terrebonne, Que.’s Raphael Archambault (Archambault Suzuki / Parts Canada Racing Suzuki GSX-R600) and North Vancouver racer Darren James (Deeley Harley-Davidson Canada / Ruthless Racing Buell 1125R).

In other action at Atlantic Motorsport Park, the race for the Pirelli Pro Sport Bike Championship got a little tighter as Trombino claimed the Kawasaki S4-R Competition Lubricants Pole Award for Sunday’s race with a time of 1:08.332.

Welsh was second quickest with a 1:08.553 on the Z1 Suzuki GSX-R600, which just edged points leader Christie, who turned a 1:08.560.

Both Welsh and Christie suffered minor falls in the session.

James took the Tactical Products Canada Pole Award in the Harley-Davidson XR1200 Cup at AMP with a time of 1:12.804 on the Deeley Harley-Davidson Canada / Ruthless Racing entry.

Points leader Steve Crevier from Maple Ridge, B.C. was second fastest at 1:13.005 riding the MotoSport Plus of Kingston-backed machine and Cochrane, Alta.’s Cody Matechuk qualified third with a 1:13.115 riding the XR1200 sponsored by Halifax’s Privateers Harley-Davidson.

Amzy Nawaz of Thornton, Ont. took the Kawasaki S4-R Competition Lubricants Pole Awards in the K&N Performance Filters Amateur Superbike and Inside Motorcycles Amateur Sport Bike classes. The rider of the Velocity Sportsgear Kawasaki ZX-6R turned a lap at 1:10.211 in Amateur Superbike and 1:10.542 in Amateur Sport Bike.

Caledon, Ont.’s Kristopher Garvie was second in Superbike on the Tracksport Technologies / Kahuna Powersports Kawasaki ZX-6R at 1:10.899 and Jody Greening of Burlington, Ont. placed third on the BFE / ProStar / Sturgess Cycle Honda CBR600RR with a time of 1:11.485.

In Sport Bike Magog, Que.’s Samuel Proulx qualified second with a time of 1:10.739 on the Sherbrooke Harley-Davidson Suzuki GSX-R600 and Greening turned a 1:11.511 to qualify third.

Stacey Nesbitt of St-Lazare, Que. closed to within 10 points of Falmouth, N.S.’s Austin Shaw-O’Leary in the Honda CBR125R Challenge standings by winning her second race of the season at AMP on Saturday. Nesbitt edged Shaw-O’Leary by just 0.208 secs. in the 10-lap race.

Leah Vignale of Kemptville, Ont. won a dramatic battle for third.

Action at Atlantic Motorsport Park this weekend concludes with races in all six national classes on Sunday. Practice starts at 9:00 a.m. with the first race, for the Honda CBR125R Challenge set to go at 11:40 a.m.

For ticket information call 902-499-3610 or go to http://www.atlanticroadracing.com.

For more series information, visit http://www.csbk.ca

SHUBENACADIE, N.S. (August 6) – Starting line-up for Sunday’s fifth round of the Canadian Superbike Championship by Parts Canada at Atlantic Motorsport Park showing starting position, rider name, hometown, type of motorcycle in brackets and qualifying time:

1. Jordan Szoke, Brantford, Ont. (Kawasaki ZX-10R) 1:07.359 (136.819km/h)

2. Brett McCormick, Saskatoon, Sask. (BMW S1000RR) 1:07.736

3. Andrew Nelson, Kars, Ont. (BMW S1000RR) 1:07.745

4. Frank Trombino, Woodbridge, Ont. (Suzuki GSX-R600) 1:08.045

5. Alex Welsh, Uxbridge, Ont. (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 1:08.082

6. Jodi Christie, Keene, Ont. (Honda CBR600RR) 1:08.669

7. Bodhi Edie, Warman, Sask. (Honda CBR600RR) 1:08.834

8. Michael Ferreira, Mississauga, Ont. (BMW S1000RR) 1:08.946

9. Raphael Archambault, Terrebonne, Que. (Suzuki GSX-R600) 1:09.460

10. Darren James, North Vancouver, BC (Buell 1125R) 1:10.812

11. Rob Busby, Brantford, Ont. (BMW S1000RR) 1:10.256

12. Sylvain Dery, St-Colomban, Que. (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:10.480

13. Ron Munroe, Beaver Bank, N.S. (Kawasaki ZX-6R) 1:10.588

14. Marie-Josee Boucher, Montreal, Que. (Honda CBR600RR) 1:11.868

15. Franklyn Dominguez, Hudson, Que. (Kawasaki ZX-10R) 1:12.058

16. Steve Walker, Carleton Place, Ont. (BMW S1000RR) 1:12.566


Posted on August 6, 2011, in CSBK - Canadian Superbike Series. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: